Shells & Starfish

Image
If you’re like me, then we have these two things in common: one – you’re ridiculously good looking…and two – you seem to always have a full plate; not in the second helpings-food lover way (I don’t eat very much), but in the sense that I seem to constantly have more going on than I know what to do with.
Maybe your full plate is portioned out evenly across obligations such as work and daily commutes, activities (soccer, dance, or softball games), family time, and eating & sleeping. Regardless, that plate is full. You’re maxed out!  Anything more slips right off the plate or clears another item or thing from its position. Regardless, both lead to the same outcome and that is that you end the day with a mess on floor. Alright, alright… you get the point with the plate. But hey, if you can honestly tell yourself you weren’t seeing the vast imagery of a loaded plate in your mind while reading this, then go ahead, I give you permission to stop reading (not really).
Back on point…
Now, did you notice that I left out not only time at church, but daily devotionals and prayer altogether?
So here I am. A fully loaded plate full of wonderful and God-honoring activities yet still lacking in the very things that keep me well connected to my God. Now I’m sure that most of us have pondered this and have wanted to do a daily devotional and to be in Christ-centered small-groups, LifeGroups, and bible studies, and to do as we are called; to pray without ceasing. But HOW do we fight for change?
It’s time to re-learn the word “No”. This simple two letter word begins to act as a buffer between good things and the great things. By saying no, we can reclaim time for rest, time for reflection on God’s word, and time for speaking with our God who has been patiently waiting for us to “fit” him back into our days.
I’m reminded of a story that has stuck with me for years now. A boy is walking on the beach with his parents collecting broken sea shells. His hands are full of the broken pieces when he comes upon a rock with a large starfish on it. Instead of immediately picking up the starfish and taking it with him, he simply stands there and looks discouraged. When his parents ask him what’s wrong and why he doesn’t pick up the starfish, he begins to cry, “My hands are full of sea shells and I can’t pick it up.”
It’s time to cash in our shells for starfish.
What are some things that you need to say “no” to in order to say “yes” to the more important things in life?
What steps can you take toward clearing some room on your plate?
Is God at the center of your plate or is he even on your plate at all?
– Pastor Brian

Leave a comment